Top 10 Books for Reception

Reception Books

Reading with children in Reception can be a fun and rewarding experience for both the children and the adult. Here are some tips on how to make the most of your reading sessions with these young learners:

  1. Choose books that are appropriate for their age and interests.
  2. Read with enthusiasm and expression. Use different voices for the different characters and make the story come alive for the children.
  3. Encourage the children to participate. Ask them questions about the story and the pictures, and encourage them to make predictions about what might happen next.
  4. Use props and puppets to enhance the story.
  5. Make reading a regular part of your routine.
  6. Follow up with related activities. After reading a book, you could do a related craft or activity, or encourage the children to draw pictures or write their own stories.

Remember that reading should be a fun and enjoyable experience for young children, so don’t put too much pressure on them to read or understand everything. Focus on building their enthusiasm for books and stories, and the rest will follow naturally.

Handa's Surprise

“Handa’s Surprise” is a children’s book written and illustrated by Eileen Browne. The story is about a little girl named Handa, who takes a basket of fruits to her friend Akeyo as a surprise. Along the way, different animals snatch fruits from her basket, and Handa is left with an unexpected surprise.

Using finger puppets can make the story more engaging for children, as they can interact with the characters in a more tactile way. It can also be a fun and creative activity for parents or caregivers to do with children.

Room on a Broom

“Room on the Broom” is a classic children’s book written by Julia Donaldson and illustrated by Axel Scheffler.

The story follows a friendly witch and her cat as they fly through the night on a broomstick. Along the way, they encounter several creatures who ask to join them on their journey.

In this version, young readers can interact with the story by pulling tabs, sliding characters and pushing objects to reveal new scenes and add an extra layer of fun to the reading experience.

Funnybones collection

“Funnybones: A Bone Rattling Collection” is a collection of 10 books written by Janet and Allan Ahlberg.

These books are aimed at children aged 3 to 7 years old and are filled with fun and spooky adventures featuring the mischievous skeletons, Big Skeleton, Little Skeleton, and their dog, a skeleton dog called “Bumps”. The stories are told in a humorous and engaging way, making them perfect for young children who are just starting to read.

Owl Babies

“Owl Babies” is a children’s book written by Martin Waddell and illustrated by Patrick Benson. It tells the story of three owl siblings named Sarah, Percy, and Bill who awaken one night to find that their mother is gone.

The three owlets are worried and wonder where their mother has gone, and if she will return. Throughout the story, they comfort each other and hold onto hope until their mother returns.

Giraffes can't Dance

“Giraffes Can’t Dance” is the title of a popular children’s book by Giles Andreae and illustrated by Guy Parker-Rees. The book tells the story of Gerald the giraffe, who is mocked by the other animals for his awkward dancing. However, with the encouragement of a wise cricket, Gerald discovers that he can dance to his own beat and impresses the other animals with his unique style.

Wonky Donkey Series

The Wonky Donkey series is a collection of children’s picture books written by Craig Smith and illustrated by Katz Cowley. The series follows the adventures of a funny and quirky donkey and his friends.

The Wonky Donkey series is a fun and entertaining collection of books that is sure to delight young readers. The books are written in catchy rhymes and feature colourful illustrations that bring the characters to life.

What the Ladybird Heard

“There’s a Dragon in Your Book” is an interactive children’s book that allows young readers to engage with a friendly dragon as they turn the pages. The book is written by Tom Fletcher and illustrated by Greg Abbott.

Throughout the book, the dragon interacts with the reader in various ways, such as asking for help to find hidden objects, or inviting the reader to play along with him. The book also includes interactive elements such as shaking the book to make the dragon sneeze or blowing on the pages to help the dragon fly.

Aliens Love Underpants

“Aliens Love Underpants Collection Set” is a set of 6 children’s books written by Claire Freedman and illustrated by Ben Cort.

The stories are about a group of mischievous aliens who love nothing more than stealing underpants from humans. Each book features a different adventure where the aliens go on a mission to get their hands on more underpants. The stories are full of humor and silly situations that children will enjoy.

Meg and Mog

“The Complete Collection Meg and Mog Magical Adventures” is a set of 20 children’s picture books written by Helen Nicoll and illustrated by Jan Pienkowski.

The books follow the adventures of Meg, a witch, her cat, Mog, and their friends. The stories are full of magic and whimsy, and the illustrations are colourful and engaging, bringing the characters and their world to life.  This box set makes a great gift for any child who loves magical adventures.

The New Bum Series

The “New Bum Series” by Dawn McMillan is a collection of three humorous children’s books that explore the adventures and misadventures of different characters and their bums.

The “New Bum Series” is a fun and lighthearted collection of books that will entertain and delight young readers. The playful language and colorful illustrations are sure to capture their imaginations and keep them engaged from beginning to end.

Tags: Reception

Related Posts