Phonics International

Phonics International

What is Phonics International?

Phonics International is a comprehensive phonics program designed to teach children how to read and write using phonics principles. It was developed by an experienced teacher named Debbie Hepplewhite and is based on research and best practices in teaching phonics.

The program includes a set of resources and materials, such as lesson plans, worksheets, and books, that are designed to help teachers teach phonics in a systematic and effective way. It covers a range of phonics concepts, including grapheme-phoneme correspondences, blending, segmenting, and tricky words.

Phonics International is suitable for use in both primary and secondary schools, and it has been adopted by schools in many countries around the world. Its aim is to give children the foundational skills they need to become confident and fluent readers and writers.

Stages of Learning

Phonics International is divided into six stages that gradually introduce new phonics concepts and build on the skills learned in the previous stage.

Here is an overview of the stages of learning in Phonics International:

Stage 1: In this stage, children are introduced to the sounds of the alphabet and how to blend them to make simple words. They also learn some common high-frequency words and basic handwriting skills.

Stage 2: In this stage, children learn additional sounds and spelling patterns, and they continue to practice blending and segmenting words. They also learn more high-frequency words and handwriting skills.

Stage 3: In this stage, children learn more complex sounds and spelling patterns, and they continue to practice blending and segmenting words. They also learn how to read and spell longer words and write in sentences.

Stage 4: In this stage, children learn more advanced spelling patterns, including prefixes, suffixes, and multisyllabic words. They also learn how to use punctuation and develop their writing skills.

Stage 5: In this stage, children learn how to read and spell more complex words, including words with silent letters and alternative spellings. They also develop their comprehension skills and their ability to write longer, more complex sentences.

Stage 6: In this stage, children consolidate their phonics skills and focus on reading and writing fluently and accurately. They also develop their vocabulary and comprehension skills and learn how to write for different purposes and audiences.

Each stage of Phonics International is designed to be taught over the course of a school year, and the program includes a range of resources and materials to support teachers in their phonics lessons.


Tags: ADHD, EYFS, literacy, multisensory, phonics, reading, Special Needs, spelling, tricky words, Year 1, Year 2

Related Posts