Top 10 books for Year One

Phonics activities for Reception

Reading with a year one child can be an exciting phase in their reading journey as it’s the year phonics and word recognition start to click into place.  Here are some tips on how to enjoy a book with a Year One child.

  1. Choose age-appropriate books: Look for books that are appropriate for your child’s reading level and interests.
  2. Read together: Encourage your child to read along with you, pointing to the words as you go. You can take turns reading pages or alternate sentences to make it more engaging.
  3. Ask questions: Ask your child questions about the story as you go along to keep them engaged and to check their comprehension. Ask them to predict what might happen next or how they think the story will end.
  4. Make it interactive: Use the story as a springboard for other activities, such as drawing pictures related to the story, acting out scenes, or making up their own stories.
  5. Keep it fun: Above all, make reading a fun and enjoyable experience for your child. Use different voices for different characters, make sound effects, and use your body language to make the story come alive.

Remember, reading is a lifelong skill that can bring joy and enrichment to your child’s life. By making it a positive experience from an early age, you can help set your child on the path to becoming a lifelong reader.

This Is Not My Hat!

These three books are written and illustrated by Jon Klassen, a Canadian author and illustrator. They are all picture books aimed at children, but they have gained popularity among readers of all ages.

All three books are known for their simple yet engaging stories, humorous illustrations, and clever twists. They have received numerous awards and have been praised for their originality and creativity.

The Rabbit Belongs to Emily Brown

The Emily Brown series is a collection of children’s books written by Cressida Cowell, the author of the popular “How to Train Your Dragon” series. The series features a spunky and imaginative young girl named Emily Brown, who goes on a series of whimsical adventures with her stuffed rabbit, Stanley.

The books are perfect for young readers who enjoy stories that celebrate the power of imagination and friendship.

The Bad Guys

The Bad Guys is a hilarious and action-packed series that follows a group of misfit animals who want to change their bad reputation and become heroes. In each episode, the team embarks on a new mission to save the day and prove that they are not the bad guys. The six books in this collection set include the first twelve episodes of the series, which are full of humor, adventure, and unexpected twists.

The Day the Crayons Quit

This book tells the story of a boy named Duncan who discovers that his crayons have gone on strike. Each crayon has a different complaint about how they are used, and it’s up to Duncan to find a way to make them all happy again. This hilarious and clever book has become a classic in children’s literature.

Where the Wild Things Are

“Where the Wild Things Are” is a beloved children’s book written and illustrated by Maurice Sendak. It was first published in 1963 and has since become a classic. The story follows a young boy named Max who, after misbehaving, is sent to his room without supper. He then imagines himself sailing to a distant land inhabited by wild creatures called the “Wild Things.”

David Walliams Picture Book Collection

The David Walliams Collection 5 Books Set is a paperback set of five books written by the bestselling author, David Walliams. The books included in this collection are “Geronimo,” “There’s a Snake in My School,” “The First Hippo on the Moon,” “The Slightly Annoying Elephant,” and “The Bear Who Went Boo!”

This set is perfect for young readers who enjoy funny and exciting stories. The books are written in a way that is easy to read and understand, making them great for children who are just starting to read chapter books.

The Cat in the Hat’s Learning Library

The Cat in the Hat’s Learning Library is a series of educational children’s books created by the authors Tish Rabe, Bonnie Worth, and others, based on the original characters and themes from Dr. Seuss’s classic children’s book “The Cat in the Hat”.

The books in the series cover a range of educational topics, including science, math, language arts, social studies, and more, and are designed to make learning fun and engaging for young children. It has won numerous awards, including the Parents’ Choice Award and the Dr. Toy Best Children’s Books Award.

Three Little Wolves And The Big Bad Pig

“Three Little Wolves and the Big Bad Pig” is a delightful children’s picture book written by Eugene Trivizas and illustrated by Helen Oxenbury. It is a humorous retelling of the classic tale of “The Three Little Pigs,” but with a clever twist.

The story is filled with witty wordplay and clever puns that will have children and adults alike giggling with delight. The illustrations are also a joy to behold, with charming and expressive characters that bring the story to life.

What Do you Do with an Idea?

“What Do You Do With an Idea?” is a children’s book written by Kobi Yamada and illustrated by Mae Besom. The book explores the journey of a young boy who has an idea and is unsure of what to do with it. This is a motivational and inspiring story, emphasising the importance of creativity, innovation, and self-belief. It encourages readers to follow their dreams, no matter how big or small, and to have the courage to bring them to fruition.

The Day You Begin

“The Day You Begin” is a children’s book written by Jacqueline Woodson and explores the theme of diversity and the feeling of being different in a new environment.

The book emphasises the importance of empathy, inclusivity, and acceptance of differences. It encourages readers to embrace their own unique qualities and to be open to learning about others who may come from different backgrounds, cultures, or experiences.

It is a powerful reminder that everyone has a story worth telling and that our differences are what make us unique and beautiful.

Tags: Year 1

Related Posts